Amherst Writers & Artists Press is pleased to announce the winners of the Fourth Annual Pat Schneider Poetry Contest

Contest Chief Judge: Dr. Sue Walker, Stokes Distinguished Professor University of South Alabama & Poet Laureate of Alabama 2007-2012

1st Prize awarded to Rachelle Parker of Montclair, New Jersey

Rachelle Parker will receive the $1,000 prize and her winning poem, “The Dream’s Path,” will be published in Peregrine, a forum for national and international writers since 1983 committed to finding exceptional work by both emerging and established writers, published by Amherst Writers & Artists Press.

Honorable Mention awarded to (winning poems will be published in Peregrine):

  • Jane Dominick of Laramie, Wyoming for “Two Women Folding a Sheet”
  • Barbara Krasner of Somerset, New Jersey for “Finding Franz Kafka”


  • Charles Atkinson of Soquel, California
  • Elise Dirlam Ching of Walnut Creek, California
  • Kimaya Diggs of Belchertown, Massachusetts
  • Kim Ellis of New Paltz, New York
  • Jonathan Greenhause of Jersey City, New Jersey
  • Alice Jay of Miami, Florida
  • Djelloul Marbrook of Germantown, New York
  • Julianna McCarthy of Pine Mountain Club, California
  • William Allen Miller of Montague, Massachusetts
  • Jed Myers of Seattle, Washington
  • Annette Opalczynski of New Castle, Delaware
  • Anne M. Rashid of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Amherst Writers & Artists (AWA) is a non-profit, international arts organization dedicated to the principle that everyone can use words to create art. The Fourth Annual Pat Schneider Poetry Contest was made possible by the generous support from the Vessel Foundation and the Friends of Pat & Peter Schneider.